BatteryAggressive. Diligent. Confident.
Virginia Beach Battery Attorney
What are the Consequences of a Battery Charge in Virginia?
The crimes of simple assault and assault and battery are charged and convicted under the same section of law and with the same penalties. The situation can change, however, if there are aggravating circumstances. If the defendant committed battery against a police officer, teacher, healthcare provider, emergency medical technician, fireman, or other such individual, the offense could escalate to a Class 6 felony.
When no aggravating factors are involved, battery is charged as a Class 1 misdemeanor, which can incur a penalty of:
- Up to 12 months in jail
- Maximum fine of $2,500
Defenses We Offer at McCormack & McCormack
In order to fight charges of battery, you must hire a Virginia Beach criminal attorney with the experience and skill to handle your case before a judge and jury. At McCormack & McCormack, we have extensive experience before the state and federal courts.
Our Virginia Beach criminal defense lawyers also have experience in the U.S. Army Judge Advocate General Corps and can aggressively defend military men and women who are facing charges of battery.
The sooner you contact a lawyer from McCormack & McCormack, the sooner we can begin building your defense. Our attorneys will begin studying your case the moment we agree to represent you, and we will dedicate our full attention to your defense.
Our testimonials prove that we work around the clock to support our clients and achieve the best possible results for your case. Find out how we can obtain a reduction or dismissal of your charges by taking part in a free case evaluation with our firm today!
McCormack & McCormack is proud to represent clients in and around Hampton Roads, including Virginia Beach, Norfolk, Chesapeake, Portsmouth, Newport News, Suffolk, Hampton and Northampton and Accomack Counties on the Eastern Shore.